Back to sanity. For a while, at least. :)

Studio-6-27-15

The world has felt incredibly weird lately (energetically sensitive people out there will get this!), and sometimes painting is about the only thing that allows my mind and body to calm down. So grateful I have this little way to escape, ground, move some energy in my body, do something that comes so naturally, and feel just a little bit in control of life. Even if just for a little while. 🙂

My abstract paintings are created through the spontaneous application of paint with my fingers. This technique has enabled me to create a variety of textures and designs that I cannot achieve with a brush. Although I have spent most of my art career as a finger painting artist, I also use a very fine brush to create surreal landscapes. While these landscapes retain the dreamy feel of my abstracts, they incorporate more realistic details such as grass and flowers. The colors in my work are saturated, yet you'll find subtle variations in the hues. My paintings are not only known for their vibrant and profound colors, but also for their textures. People often report feeling both energized and calm while looking at my work. About the artist Naomi’s art has been seen in numerous venues in St. Louis since she began painting in 2009. Her work has also been shown in Lexington, Kentucky, Boston, Massachusetts, and Lyon, France. Naomi’s paintings can be found in private collections throughout United States and Europe. Naomi holds a Bachelor’s degree in History and Russian Areas Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She has never received formal training as an artist, but she can trace her somewhat twisted path from ESL teacher, to political consultant, to website creator (just to name a few) to artist. Naomi is a native of St. Louis, Missouri, where she lives with her husband.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Back to sanity. For a while, at least. :)
  1. Gia says:

    Hi Naomi, beautiful art…I haven’t gone through a lot of it yet but what I’ve seen so far… has good energies. Speaking about, I simply wanted to comment on this post because I completely agree with the “weird energies” at the moment. I haven’t tried getting my art material out to calm me down – that may be the way to cope with it.
    I (too) love painting with my fingers. Usually doesn’t look as elegant and refined but it feels good 🙂 and for me, that is more important. The process is what counts…well the product in the end is not unimportant, but not all.
    I’ll have to check out more of your art and see what can be done with fingerpainting. I always feel so clumsy.

    • Sorry, but I just found this comment! Argh! So sorry! Hope things are better for you energetically? It’s taking a lot of self-awareness, but I am finally learning to not let the energies run me in circles. I think. 😉

    • PS-Thanks for the compliments on my work & don’t worry about feeling clumsy. Just let it rip and see what happens. Even if it’s a disaster, it may feel good just to do some art. Trust me, you won’t see everything I paint!

Leave a Reply

