I am officially responsive. Well, kind of.

It recently came to my attention (ok, so I’m a little slow), that most human beings on the planet who are connected to the internet are doing so not via computer, like me, but via a tablet or phone. We recently had to replace a dead laptop and the whippersnapper at the store told that laptops are basically passe. I ignored this little conversation until a friend recently brought to my attention that google had it out for old school people like me.

Why? Because, as of last month, google got persnikety and decided than any website that is not mobile-friendly, or to use my newly-acquired lingo “responsive” may be penalized in google rankings. Not cool.

So, I ran my website through a mobile-friendly test a few days ago and it failed miserably. I’d been blissfully unaware that the font of my site was microscopic when viewed on a phone. Which means now I have to find a way to re-work my site so it can be seen by humans, not ants. This entails either creating some sort of additional version of my site for mobile devices on my host, godaddy, or creating a brand new site, which would actually be a wordpress blog masquerading as a normal website. It has been labor-intensive and confusing looking through a zillion wordpress “themes” to find one that is “responsive” but will show off my paintings without looking like the very trendy yet overtly flashy and crowded pinterest-style blogs. I can’t even make heads or tails of the “demos” of the wordpress themes, finding it impossible to envision how my content would look on them.

So for now, I am running a little experiment here on my wordpress blog. I’ve just chosen a new wordpress “theme” which is “responsive.” This means (in theory) that more people will now be able to peruse my blog via tablet or cell phone and actually see more than a tiny portion of each image I upload. How cool is that? 🙂

So we’ll see what happens. Meanwhile, I’d love to hear your stories, advice about dealing with making your content more “responsive.”

ShiftingSandsEnlarged

My abstract paintings are created through the spontaneous application of paint with my fingers. This technique has enabled me to create a variety of textures and designs that I cannot achieve with a brush. Although I have spent most of my art career as a finger painting artist, I also use a very fine brush to create surreal landscapes. While these landscapes retain the dreamy feel of my abstracts, they incorporate more realistic details such as grass and flowers. The colors in my work are saturated, yet you'll find subtle variations in the hues. My paintings are not only known for their vibrant and profound colors, but also for their textures. People often report feeling both energized and calm while looking at my work. About the artist Naomi’s art has been seen in numerous venues in St. Louis since she began painting in 2009. Her work has also been shown in Lexington, Kentucky, Boston, Massachusetts, and Lyon, France. Naomi’s paintings can be found in private collections throughout United States and Europe. Naomi holds a Bachelor’s degree in History and Russian Areas Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She has never received formal training as an artist, but she can trace her somewhat twisted path from ESL teacher, to political consultant, to website creator (just to name a few) to artist. Naomi is a native of St. Louis, Missouri, where she lives with her husband.

Posted in Uncategorized
6 comments on “I am officially responsive. Well, kind of.
  1. Interesting observation. I don’t even have an iphone or tablet or other mobile device. And I’ve never tried to see my website or blog on these devices either. I can’t imagine trying to appreciate anything on a small scale mini screen. I know I’m probably not reaching a good portion of my potential audience because they can’t, or don’t want to, sit down at a hard wired computer and take the time to read or really look at something. But, those that actually do look at my work on a larger scale, respond to me in a positive way. I prefer to deliver my work and thoughts in an environment that takes commitment from the viewer. Again, I know I’m missing out, but it’s how I want to present myself.

    • I had the same thought about my work, Larry. I’ve been wondering how many potential art buyers look at art on a small screen. That being said, I don’t want to risk the possibility of losing potential buyers due to the fact that my site isn’t mobile-friendly. Thanks for your input.

  2. Hi, lovely painting; I always enjoy seeing your work! Thought I’d mention I use the responsive theme called “Adelle” for my blog. It’s been great for showing my artwork and poetry. I especially like – how at a bottom of a post, it shows a thumbnail pic with the title some of my other posts. I built my blog using my iPad; I don’t really like using computers. As well, as drawing and painting on paper and canvas, I also draw, paint, write… on my iPad. One of the reasons I decided to have a blog was to share about the art apps, and some other apps I use. The main art app I use is “Art Set Pro”….anyway, I share about all these areas on my blog. I hope this information is helpful. All the best, Janette. 🙂

  3. slackwrdave says:

    My partner, Brian, self-hosts his professional site using the Responsive theme. It autodetects mobiles and presents accordingly. The first time I viewed it on mobile, I was amazed.

Leave a Reply

