My interview in French with Mathieu Sirieix about my art.

Mathieu Sirieix

La peinture rythme les journées de Naomi Silver depuis 2009. Cette Américaine, mariée à un professeur de français à Saint-Louis dans le Missouri, a réalisé plus de 200 oeuvres. Interview.

Pourquoi avoir choisir de devenir artiste peintre ? Comment est née cette passion ?
En 2009, je travaillai sur mon site web CultureSurfer.com (qui n’existe plus) depuis trois ans et j’étais fatiguée par ce travail qui me demandait beaucoup d’énergie et avec lequel je gagnais très peu d’argent. Le site m’a permis de rencontrer de nombreux artistes parmi lesquels des peintres et je me suis dit un jour, pourquoi ne pas faire comme eux ? Avec quelques toiles et des peintures pour enfants je me suis lancée et j’ai réalisé mes premières oeuvres. J’ai publié les photos de mes peintures sur Facebook et à ma grande surprise des personnes ont souhaité acheter certaines d’entre elles. Je n’avais jamais pensé un…

View original post 296 more words

My abstract paintings are created through the spontaneous application of paint with my fingers. This technique has enabled me to create a variety of textures and designs that I cannot achieve with a brush. Although I have spent most of my art career as a finger painting artist, I also use a very fine brush to create surreal landscapes. While these landscapes retain the dreamy feel of my abstracts, they incorporate more realistic details such as grass and flowers. The colors in my work are saturated, yet you'll find subtle variations in the hues. My paintings are not only known for their vibrant and profound colors, but also for their textures. People often report feeling both energized and calm while looking at my work. About the artist Naomi’s art has been seen in numerous venues in St. Louis since she began painting in 2009. Her work has also been shown in Lexington, Kentucky, Boston, Massachusetts, and Lyon, France. Naomi’s paintings can be found in private collections throughout United States and Europe. Naomi holds a Bachelor’s degree in History and Russian Areas Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She has never received formal training as an artist, but she can trace her somewhat twisted path from ESL teacher, to political consultant, to website creator (just to name a few) to artist. Naomi is a native of St. Louis, Missouri, where she lives with her husband.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

